The European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC) has published the new weekly maps of the current Coronavirus situation in the EU countries, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland, based on which the Member States are urged to impose/remove entry restrictions.

Due to an increasing number of COVID-19 cases across Europe, the new maps suggest that more travel restrictions should be imposed among the member states, as more countries have turned red from yellow.

According to these maps, in France, only the Centre Region remains in yellow, while the three other regions that were also in yellow last week – Bretagne, Hauts-de-France, and Bourgogne-Franche-Comte – have turned into red.

The Midi-Pyrénées, Languedoc-Roussillon, and Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur, on the other hand, remain dark red, in which category they were placed on the last’s weeks update of the maps, on August 5.

In Sweden, the regions of Lappland, Norrbotten, and Västerbotten have changed from yellow to red. The region of Uppaland remains red, while the rest of the country is still coloured in yellow.

Lithuania’s region of Vilnius has also turned from yellow to red. In Norway, the situation has also deteriorated too, as the counties of Viken and Nordland have turned from green into yellow.

Changes in the current COVID-19 situation have occurred in other EU countries as well. Romania is now mostly yellow, while last week it was completely green. In Italy, there are also more red regions, while some parts of the Netherlands have turned from red into yellow.

The situation remains bad in Spain, which is mostly dark red. The only region that has changed colours in Spain compared to last week is that of Murcia, which has turned from dark red to red.

Data published by the World Health Organization shows that in the last 24 hours, some of the countries mentioned above have reported the following number of new COVID-19 cases:

  • France – 24,236
  • Greece – 4,614
  • Italy – 5,624
  • Spain – 8,001
  • Sweden – 1,461

The common maps have been initiated and agreed on by the Europan Union Council in a bid of the block to preserve the freedom of movement in the EU. Through these maps, the countries intend to make it easier for the Member States to coordinate the restrictions of free movement in response to COVID-19.

See also:

Source link